Whether in the lab, or in the field, School of Science faculty and students engage in an array of research initiatives.

Ranging from laboratory collaborations in the life and health sciences to cutting-edge investigations in the mathematical sciences, 122 tenured track faculty lead active research initiatives.  

For undergraduate students, research is an excellent way to build relationships with senior scientists and add depth to their university experience. At the School of Science at IUPUI, students are exposed to opportunities that no other school in the state of Indiana can offer. As early as freshman year, students in the School of Science can engage in research with faculty mentors in the school and across campus. Undergraduate researchers receive financial support, gain access to advanced lab equipment, and enjoy the opportunity to work one-on-one with renowned faculty. Many students present their research at national meetings, and their findings are occasionally published in scientific journals.

School of Science faculty currently hold more than $20 million in external research funding, including over $10 million in new awards in 2011-12.

  • Collectively, faculty in the School of Science have active research and education awards totaling over $2.7 million from the National Science Foundation (NSF), $2 million from the National Institutes of Health (NIH), $1.8 million from other federal agencies like the USDA and the Department of Defense, $1.2 million in funding Eli Lilly, Amgen, other industrial partners, non-profits, and private foundations, and $1.4 million with state and local agencies and other universities.
  • An additional $1.1 million in funding is from internal awards such as CTSI, RSFG, and the prestigious IU Collaborative Research Grants (IUCRG) to faculty in biology, chemistry and chemical biology, mathematics, psychology and physics.
  • Four young investigators are conducting research under an NSF CAREER Awards: Greg Druschel in earth sciences Mohammad Al Hasan in computer and information sciences, and Yogesh Joglekar in physics, and Gavriil Tsechpenakis in computer and information science. NSF CAREER Awards honor faculty members early in their careers who exemplify outstanding integration of education and research.

Read more about our faculty's reseach endeavors.