School of Science Presents Awards at the 40th Annual Honors Convocation

Release Date: 
May 13 2014

INDIANAPOLIS-- Dozens of School of Science students, faculty and staff were recognized during the 40th annual Honors Convocation, honoring scholarship winners and outstanding students across all science departments. The event was held April 12 in downtown Indianapolis.

Associate Dean Kathy Marrs, also an associate professor of biology, served as the mistress of ceremonies. Dean Simon Rhodes made opening remarks, noting that the annual event serves as a celebratory occasion to honor students, faculty, staff and donors in one place: “Without the concerted efforts and determination of all four groups, the School of Science would not be what it is today.”

The following school awards were issued:

 School of Science Awards

Faculty and staff awards:

  • Trustee Teaching Awards: Keith S. Anliker, M.S., Chemistry and Chemical Biology; William Gilhooly III, Ph.D., Earth Sciences; Jiliang Li, M.D., Ph.D., Biology; Michael McLeish, Ph.D., Chemistry and Chemical Biology; Snehasis Mukhopadhyay, Ph.D., Computer and Information Science; Mamunur Rashid, Ph.D., Mathematical Sciences; Roland Roeder, Ph.D., Mathematical Sciences
  • Research Awards for Tenure-Track Faculty: Catherine E. Mosher, Ph.D., Psychology; Gavriil Tsechpenakis, Ph.D., Computer and Information Science
  • Research Award for Tenured Faculty: Kathy J. Licht, Ph.D., Earth Sciences
  • Service Award: Jane R. Williams, Ph.D., Psychology
  • Full-time Lecturer Service Award: Michele S. Roberts, M.S., Computer and Information Science
  • Associate Faculty Award: Lark T. Hahn, Ph.D., Mathematical Sciences
  • Partners in Education Full-time Staff Awards: Mark A. Federwisch, School of Science; Cary L. Pritchard, Chemistry and Chemical Biology
  • Teaching Assistant Award: Amanda M. Harsy Ramsay, Mathematical Sciences

Student awards and scholarships:

  • Chancellor’s Scholar Award: Jason M. Walsman, Biology, Environmental Science, Mathematics, and Physics
  • Chancellor’s Undergraduate Research Award Nominees: Sara M. Ibrahim, Biology; Matthew G. Logsdon, Chemistry    
  • Indumati Sukhatme RISE Scholarship: Maria L. Harlan, Biology    
  • John D. Barnwell Memorial Scholarship: Sarah E. Tolbert, Forensic and Investigative Sciences    
  • Frank G. and Ernestine M. Lambertus Scholarship: Alicia M. Quash, Psychology; Erum Rizvi, Biology    
  • Robert W. Tuveson Memorial Scholarship: Jennifer L. Mahin, Biology    
  • Alumni Association Academic Achievement Scholarship: Weston B. Wright, Biology    
  • The Indianapolis Project SEED Scholarships: Judy W. Maina / Njoroge, Nursing; VanBawiTha Thawng, Electrical Engineering; Zachariah M. Williams, Exploratory    
  • Women in Science Scholars: Allie N. Ball, Biology; Kelly C. Biro, Biology; Corinne N. Blackburn, Biology; Jessica M. Bosse, Forensic & Investigative Sciences; Anna Brenneman, Biology; Kristen M. Clark; Forensic & Investigative Sciences; Grace A. Connolly, Forensic & Investigative Sciences; Whitney D. Coverdale, Psychology; Christina Davis, Psychology; Chelsea J. Dodge, Forensic & Investigative Sciences; Alissa Flores, Forensic & Investigative Sciences; Sarah A. Flores, Biology; Rachel I. Giordano, Biology; Melissa Gronceski, Biology; Katherine P. Haskell, Forensic & Investigative Sciences; Kimberly T. Ho-A-Lim, Biology; Emily A. Parker, Biology and Neuroscience; Arnesha L. Price, Psychology; Deonna R. Puckett, Chemistry; Christina Rhinehart, Forensic & Investigative Sciences; Ashley A. Schepers, Interdisciplinary Studies; Marina N. Sharif, Chemistry; Morgann T. Smith, Neuroscience; Crystal Sorg, Chemistry; Kailey E. Stancombe, Neuroscience and Psychology; Whitney M. Walker, Interdisciplinary Studies; Meredith B. Warbinton, Forensic & Investigative Sciences; Amanda N. Wheeler, Psychology; Brittany N. Williams, Psychology; Bailey M. Wills, Forensic & Investigative Sciences